Game Of Thrones And Biomedical Ethics

‘Cause, you know, clearly the two are a great combo!

In all seriousness, though, I’m going to watch the first episode of Game of Thrones tonight. It’s terribly exciting. What finally really convinced me to start watching now, was the red wedding (?) episode. I don’t know anything about it other than that it was horrible, (in what I hope is a good way…), and long-awaited, and… yeah. It seemed like something I want to finally be a part of. Finally.

(This is only one of many shows that I’m terribly behind on. I have, for instance, never actually seen an episode of HIMYM, which is still on my to watch list. Or Mad Men. On the other hand, I was pretty early with stuff like Misfits and Community. But yeah, I guess generally I know about a lot of series, I just don’t watch them :P)

The bioethics book I just started reading today is ‘Principles of Biomedical Ethics’, by Beauchamp and Childress. It’s a staple in (bio)ethics literature, and I’ve got to read it so I can write an assignment on it, which will allow me to skip a year of Applied Ethics pre-master. So that’s pretty cool. And, joy, so far it’s all very interesting, too. Lucky me, ’cause medical/research ethics are sort of my main area of interest. (Bold statement; I don’t generally do main areas of interest, I’m more of the, THIS is interesting, and THIS is interesting, EVERYTHING is interesting!-school).

Anyway, that’s the fabulous news in my life these days. Hurrah!

Incidentally, I’ve been wasting a lot of time on 9GAG these past few days, because reasons. (It’s bad. As in, I’m considering not just reading the “trending” thingies, but even the “fresh” ones… WOW). Anyway, I thought this was pretty awesome and I kind of think I might start doing this to people, once circumstances allow it.

Also, this is both hilarious and deeply, deeply disturbing. Be warned.

What do you think?