Promises Of London Sunshine

Promises Of London Sunshine

Darlings, it’s been much too long since I posted something proper, with actual writing instead of some fluff around an arguably amazing song. Alas, today is not the day that this will change. Tears.

Anyway. Last week was a busy week for me, with two concerts on top of my regular goings on. Both were great, though. First, on Monday, there was London Grammar, who were supported by Bipolar Sunshine (see the song below, which I’ve been listening to quite obsessively). The picture is about the only photo I took that’s worth anything. I just got a new camera that is slightly better than your average cheap-ish camera, but I haven’t quite gotten the hang of all the settings. Should work on that before the Bastille concert that I’m going to coming Wednesday (yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! SO looking forward to that :).

The second concert was on Friday, a Dutch act called Blaudzun (singer/songwriter-ish, except Blaudzun is backed by a rather large-and-awesome band). The support act there was this crazy, weird Belgian duo/band called Eriksson Delcroix. They were… terrible, basically; probably the worst SA I’ve ever seen, and they didn’t fit with Blaudzun AT ALL. It was quite endearing(ly hilarious), though, so we enjoyed ourselves regardless. Anyway, the actual concert there was THE SHIT. I had so much fun, it was really, really great. This is the second time my friend and I have gone to see him (plus once at a festival), and they do an amazing job every single time. This was an album release show, and the album’s fantastic (Promises of No Man’s Land, go check it out in Spotify once it’s put on there!). Probably the most put-together of all his albums so far, so that was another plus. All in all totes marv.

Here’s my two favourite pictures of that concert:

This guy, who’s usually introduced as “on the hand clap” (like “Flying Kiwi on the guitar”), is amazing. He always goes on stage barefoot, and now he was sporting this… dwarvish look? I feel that best describes it. Anyway, I love him. He’s got wonderful stage presence and enthusiasm and he’s fabulous.

The man himself: Blaudzun.

And now for the Bipolar Sunshine song:

Also make sure to check out the Spotify session version, which I think is even better.

Now it’s back to work for me (on my thesis, on the right to die, amongst other things). Enjoy the sunshine – I’m loving it a LOT over here 😀

What do you think?

