Kings And Queens And Covers Of Music

As y’all know by now, I’m really big on covers, (particularly the good ones, like this one, and NOT like this one). Anyway, a friend just posted this on my Facebook wall, and I like. It’s sad that the instruments are so loud compared to the vocals, but alas. KoL can do very little wrong with me. At least, they can’t when the cover itself is cool. Robyn’s original is also pretty cool, but then she’s pretty cool herself so it all figures.

If you like cover songs yourself, be sure to check out BBC1 Radio (Live Lounge), because they have pretty brilliant stuff a lot of the time. Such as this wonderful, wonderful mashup Bastille did of Locked out of Heaven that I adore. Sadly, of course, they are also responsible for the Ellie Goulding horror – can’t always hit a home run, I suppose.

Actually, now that I’m checking out some of the recent stuff, there’s quite a lot of crap there. Particularly the QOTSA cover of Blurred Lines is terribly disappointing. I expected Ultimate Awesome and this was snooze-worthy and stupid. Oh well…

What do you think?

