Lovely Fluffy Blanket Books

A term that we – i.e. I, in conversation with friends – came up with last week, (or maybe this week, I honestly feel like it’s been going on forever because it’s awful because of finals and thesis and a paper I’ve been putting off…), is ‘blanket movie’. A blanket movie is the kind of movie that feels like a warm, comforting blanket, on those days when you just need your mother’s embrace but she’s not around. They are the movies you watch on the couch, with a cozy fire going and a mug of hot cocoa in your hand in the midst of winter. They are the fire blazing, the sweet chocolate taste, and that protective blanket, and they make life a little bit better.

Anyway, I’m getting carried away. The point I wanted to make was that, besides movies like that, there are also so-called ‘blanket books’. They basically serve the same blanket-like purpose, only you can hold them in your hand and you have to read them. They’re a bit more high-maintenance, more effort, than movies.

They are NOT chick-lit or chick flicks by the way. There’s a difference. They can be sad, they don’t have to be romantic, they just feel good. I guess they are feel-good movies. Blanket things just sounds better. Examples include The Pursuit of Happiness, Big Fish (!!), Moulin Rouge, Little Miss Sunshine, Four Weddings and a Funeral, Almost Famous, High Fidelity, Forrest GumpLa Vita è Bella (!!), Dead Poets Society (!!!!!!) and A Beautiful Mind. As for books… The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Jonathan Livingston Seagull, and… more. With books it’s slightly more personal I think.

Right now, I have the Georgia Nicolson books, (you know, Angus, thongs, and perfect snogging – those), to fulfil the blankety role. They are great. I would describe them as just as enjoyable as a conversation with your best friends, just as hilarious (unless you and your friends happen not to be hilarious, in which case I’m sorry; you’re probably still fabulous, though… I suppose), but easier, since you don’t have to do any of the thinking or coming up with the jokes, or going through the drama that hilarity requires. (Yes, super easy books and movies also qualify as blankets.)

They are basically perfect, and I am not ashamed to admit that I absolutely adore these books, regardless of the fact that they are about, and target, 14-year-old girls. I am somewhat ashamed to admit that my life isn’t nearly as exciting as theirs, particularly in the sex gods department. Luckily, I have a 14-year-old sister who isn’t nearly as adventurous either, and I find that reassuring. In my opinion, children – which 14yo still are – should enjoy childhood and not worry about sex gods and snogging and boobs that much. They’ve got at least another 60 years of that ahead of them, for book’s sake. EMBRACE YOUTH AND CHILDISHNESS WHILE YOU STILL CAN GEORGIA, SOON YOU WILL BE OLD AND MOULDED INTO THE CONFINES OF SOCIETY.

Although she’s also supremely immature, in many ways. I don’t think she’s representative of 14yos around the world. I hope?

2 thoughts on “Lovely Fluffy Blanket Books

  1. Lovely post!! Yay for the exclamation marks after La Vita È Bella. Also, I totally agree with all of this. The Georgia Nicolson books are wonderful. I should reread those sometime.

What do you think?

