Ready For Take Off, Jonathan Livingston?

I remember the post that I forgot before, which makes me very happy. It’s to do with birds.

Some of you may be aware of the existence of ‘Jonathan Livingston Seagull’ already, and some of you may not be, and you should be ashamed of yourselves, for it is a brilliant book, and it’s very short so there’s no excuse not to read it now that I’ve told you this.

Some of you may also be aware that the bird in the upper right corner of my banner is not just a bird, but a seagull, taken from one of the many photos of seagulls in JLS. Yes, I actually thought that banner through.

Why am I telling you this? Because I’ve finally decided. You see, for a long time, I’ve been wanting a tattoo. Or… wanting; I’ve been thinking to myself that if I’d finally decide for sure what kind of tattoo I want, I could get it. Now I know. (The next step is deciding where I’d want it, and then after that whether I really want to put a permanent mark like that on my body).

Why a seagull, or a bird, more generally? Because they can fly, and I feel like that’s the ultimate symbol of freedom. Ironically, since no man’s ever flown, and neither any woman that I’ve heard of, so in a sense freedom is represented (to me) by something I can never attain, and am ultimately not free to do. Bugger. The best dreams I have are probably those in which I can fly. It’s something I wish for everyone to experience at least once in their lives. (Are there people who’ve never dreamt that? If so, what’s your favourite dream?)

One of the best, most beautiful images, or photographs, I know is this one, off the cover of a Wilco album.

Image

Sky Blue Sky, Wilco

I can’t even begin to explain why I love it so much, but I do. While I believe that if I were an animal, I’d be a dog, I don’t think I’d mind being a bird. Especially one as fantastic as Jonathan.

What do you think?

